RSS

Stop and Smell the Stinky Diapers!

14 Nov

Our little girl recently turned 9 months old.  Yes, as any parent, we are as proud as we can be and also can’t believe where the time has gone.  With this milestone comes questions – is she crawling, how many teeth does she have, is she trying to walk yet, when is she gonna get any hair.  I understand there are certain milestones that a 9 month old should be meeting due to developmental abilities and if not that would be a cause for concern.  All of this has been discussed with her pediatrician, and she is fine – so no worries there.

Today, though, I ran into someone that knows my wife and I – and of course it lead into that discussion of how old is she and is she walking yet, etc. – and she proceeds to tell me how her child was walking at 8 1/2 months old.  I too have been in on the walking “betting” with our daughter saying that she would be walking by Christmas, so as you’ll see the context of my blog will also be directed at myself as well.

I realized something after the conversation with the nice lady. We – parents, society – are obsessed with our kids growing up and doing so quickly!  I’m as guilty as the rest.  When we first brought Maddy home, I remember saying “I can’t wait until she can smile or laugh…”.  I had to stop myself and enjoy what she could do whether it was just grunt or poot right then!  Parents get so worried about their babies sleeping through the night, eating solid food, and when they will crawl or walk – we don’t focus on what they are doing at them moment.  We’re always looking ahead to tomorrow – trying to grow them up too fast.  And don’t even get me started on what happens once they are older – 5 year olds with cell phones, the clothes…wait, I said I wasn’t gonna start!

So the next time someone asks you if you child is doing this or that yet – say nope, but this is what she IS doing, and I’m loving every minute of it!

 
1 Comment

Posted by on November 14, 2011 in Baby, Parenting, Rambles

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

One response to “Stop and Smell the Stinky Diapers!

  1. Ashley-JoJo McCraney

    November 14, 2011 at 9:33 pm

    So true…Trace developed way too fast…I want to keep Hadley Kate an infant for forever 😦 lol definitely won’t be rushing her any!!!

     

Leave a Reply

 
