RSS

Sisterhood of the traveling…shirt?

20 Feb

Do you remember the movie that came out recently, The Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants? Essentially it is about this group of friends that all share one pair of pants and the adventures they get into.

I have somewhat of a similar story – not that a group of guy friends of mine all shared the same pair of pants for a summer.  No, more of a story coming full circle.

As I’ve mentioned before, Liz and I met at Mississippi College.  I was a sophomore; she was a freshman.  I asked her out by e-mail.  I’m sure there are people now that get asked out by text – it’s less confrontational that way.  She said yes.

I don’t know about every other guy out there – but I wanted to look nice for our first date.  So, I went and bought a new shirt.  I had been told I looked good in blue, so what color shirt do I buy?  You guessed it – a blue button up.  Who would have ever guessed the journey that shirt would have!

We had our first date at Macaroni Grill, came back to the dorm and decided to then go see a movie – Titanic. From that first date, we would develop a friendship that was the basis for our relationship today.  There was one particular night, when our campus had “open dorms”.  At MC, guys were not allowed in girls dorms and vice versa – we had special nights where these “visitations” were allowed.  Liz came to my dorm with some other friends and stayed for a few minutes.  I was a resident assistant so I had to man the halls and make sure everyone was keeping their feet flat on the floor!  A couple of days go by.  I realizing something is missing from my closet.

My blue shirt.

Liz had stolen it – okay, taken it – from my closet.  For what reason, I’m not real sure.  She liked wearing guys shirts?  She liked the way it smelled?  It reminded her of me? Okay, maybe that last one is a bit of a stretch but who knows, right?  Maybe it was all of the above.

I would eventually get the shirt back and it would find its rightful place back in my closet.

Fastforward through our engagement, our wedding and into our marriage.  The years have gone by – I’ve gained a few pounds and the shirt doesn’t fit anymore – yet I still have it, because I remember that it was the shirt I wore on our first date.  It has now become one of Liz’s favorite shirts to wear around the house or for a quick trip to the store.

Now fastforward a little more to the day we are in the hospital welcoming our little girl into the world.  Liz finally is able to get out of that horrible hospital gown and into her own clothes.  What do I pull out of the hospital bag for her to put on?

That blue shirt.

The very shirt – that I guess you could say started it all – is now the shirt that my wife is now placing our daughter on to comfort and snuggle with her in.  I would have to say that things have come full circle for this shirt.

Oh, and I think I got my money’s worth out of that shirt as well!  A first date and two beautiful girls – I’d say it was worth it!

 
11 Comments

Posted by on February 20, 2011 in Baby, Parenting

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

11 responses to “Sisterhood of the traveling…shirt?

  1. madmothermusings

    February 20, 2011 at 10:30 pm

    Wow! What a cool story! It is so amazing how things come full circle! God bless you both and congratulations on your new little addition! She’s beautiful!

     
    • Brian

      February 21, 2011 at 7:44 pm

      Thanks so much! We think she is quite cute too! ha!

       
  2. The Simple Life of a Country Man's Wife

    February 21, 2011 at 8:28 am

    Ok, this story brought tears to my eyes! What a great photo of your wife and baby – I see where Maddy gets her beauty 🙂

     
    • Brian

      February 21, 2011 at 7:43 pm

      Thanks! Glad you enjoyed it!

       
  3. slcurwin

    February 21, 2011 at 3:11 pm

    that is so cute. I like stories like that.

     
  4. Kel

    February 21, 2011 at 8:54 pm

    What a great story.Ya made me cry! Beautiful to see a man who loves his woman(s) so much. You’re outnumbered now, buddy! She’ll be having you sing the lyrics to Grease in no time…

     
    • Brian

      February 21, 2011 at 8:56 pm

      Ha! Thanks! Funny you mention that – my wife loves Grease and I probably already know most of the lyrics! Ha!

       
  5. Toni Hill

    February 22, 2011 at 5:44 pm

    I would say you got your money’s worth for sure!!

     
  6. punkrockpapa

    November 13, 2014 at 12:04 am

    Great post, my wife is notorious for stealing my shirts, more so now that she is about to burst with our third child.

    When Diana went in to have the twins I remember she was wearing an old band T-shirt that doesn’t fit me anymore, my Hank William III shirt. She loves that shirt and I love her in it.

    Thanks for sharing!

     
  7. thebeardedjs

    November 14, 2014 at 7:58 am

    This made my heart smile. I steal my husbands hoodies all the times. I think its a woman thing, we do it when we’re in love.

     
    • Brian

      November 14, 2014 at 8:00 am

      Thanks for reading and for the comment! I hoped then thats what it meant!

       

Leave a Reply

 
