RSS

Then there were 3…

17 Feb

February 9th, 2011 is a day that will live in infamy.

Okay, so maybe in won’t be a day that lives in infamy, since it was not a bad day, but it will definitely be a day that changed mine and my wife’s life forever.

On this day, my wife and I welcomed our little girl, Maddy into the world!  We went in that morning for a scheduled c-section – all of our bags packed, cameras ready, and grandparents waiting.  It was a day we had been preparing and waiting on for a long time.  In many ways, it was surreal.  I think because Liz and I had been to so many doctors, through so many procedures, and two previous surgeries, we were somewhat prepared for the day.  That’s not to say that we weren’t nervous – but neither of us would admit that to each other.

Too bad that I know her better than anyone does and I already see it on her face.

Although, I don’t think she actually got nervous until she was actually in the operating room.  The minutes from the time they took her back until they called me in were absolutely excruciating.  I was pacing around in that little room like a caged animal!  Finally they let me in and I think this is when it really became real.  The look on my wife’s face was priceless – all she could say was this is weird.

Finally, we heard this little cry.  I kept waiting for the wailing that you always see on TV, but it never came.  Just these little sweet cries.  Enough to let you know she was there and give you signs of life!

Life – a life that we had created.  One that we had waited for for so long. Ten fingers and ten toes – and looks as healthy as she could be.

All the rest of the day was a blur.  I keep remembering details now to share with Liz. I went with the baby to the nursery and actually got to carry baby Maddy out for the grandparents to see.  It was something I had always wanted to do, but never expected that I would actually get to do.

I felt very weird though leaving my wife to take my new daughter to the nursery.  She assured me it was okay, and I take her word that it was – she still has not told me otherwise.

It was great to finally get back to my wife and to tell her that our little girl was perfect – 5 lbs. 2 oz., 18 inches long, and the prettiest baby in the nursery.  The nurses finally brought her back to us after about an hour.

Two had now become three.  A family.

Now the journey of parenthood begins – just as everything else we have faced in our journey together – we’ll figure out a way to make it through!

 
7 Comments

Posted by on February 17, 2011 in Baby, Infertility, Parenting

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

7 responses to “Then there were 3…

  1. Brandi

    February 17, 2011 at 8:06 pm

    And she is so pretty! Congrats

     
  2. emjayandthem

    February 17, 2011 at 8:28 pm

    a sweet, sweet post. Please print this out and put it into her baby book! Congrats and welcome baby Maddy. What a darling baby girl she is, too!

     
  3. future-mom

    February 17, 2011 at 10:50 pm

    Congratulations! Daddy’s girl already!

     
  4. The Simple Life of a Country Man's Wife

    February 18, 2011 at 8:04 am

    What a perfect face! Nice work, you two. God Bless!

     
  5. slcurwin

    February 20, 2011 at 12:00 am

    Congratulations! I’m so happy for you. Thats a beautiful little girl there.

     
  6. Nathan Mooneyham

    April 12, 2011 at 1:43 pm

    I remember holding my four for the first time. When Our twins were born I met my pareents out in the parking lot and said, “Come look what I did!” my wife still rolls her eyes at that. What made me chuckle was you carrying her out to meet the grandparents. It terrified me when the twins were born to carry them both out at the same time. We made it, with no dropping! Congratulations again

     
    • Brian

      April 12, 2011 at 1:46 pm

      Liz and I still kinda look at each other and go “we made her” – it’s really more of a question than a statement though! Ha!

       

Leave a Reply

 
